Olympiad procedure

The FEMO International Mathematics Olympiad is held for children in grades 1-5. The Olympiad consists of three rounds - winter, spring and international. Anyone can take part in the winter and spring tours. The winners of one of the rounds will be admitted to the International round of the Olympiad. All participants in each of the rounds are awarded certificates of participation. No more than 60% of the participants are awarded medals and diplomas of 1,2 and 3 degrees, as well as certificates of honorable mention.

Winter and Spring rounds

These rounds are held simultaneously for all countries of the participants on one of the days off. Round dates: December – January (winter), March – April (spring). The dates of the Olympiad are announced 20 days before the start of the Olympiad. Assignments are drawn up by an international methodological commission.

In each region, one or two points are allocated for the Olympiad, where everyone who wants to participate comes at the appointed time according to the lists. The list of venues is determined a few weeks before the Olympiad and will be published on the official website of the Olympiad www.femo.kz. 

Participants will be offered from 10 to 15 tasks of various difficulty levels. The duration of the Olympiad is from 1 to 1.5 hours. The Olympiad does not require a solution to the problem, but only its answer. The language of the Olympiad is English, Russian, Kazakh and the languages of the participating countries (upon request).

The results of the Olympiad are summed up within 10 working days. The awarding of the winners of the Olympiad is held at the points where the organizers of the Olympiad are held, regardless of whether they passed to the next round. The results are published after the award ceremony on the website www.femo.kz. 

Registration fee for each participant is – 10$.

In case of force majeure circumstances (war, uprising, strike, pandemic, earthquake, flood, fire, severe weather or other natural disasters, government regulations, orders (decrees) of state bodies and officials, laws and other regulations of the competent authorities) the Olympiad can be held online or postponed to another date.

International round

Only winners (Grand Prix and 1st place) of the winter or spring rounds can take part in this round. Round dates: June 1-5. The exact dates of the Olympiad are announced 20 days before its start. Assignments are drawn up by an international methodological commission.

For the International round, the organizing committee selects the region/country of the event from among the countries of the participants/partners. The venue is announced before May 1 of the current year on the website www.femo.kz. 

The winners will need to come to the venue. The costs of meals, accommodation and flights are paid by the participants of the Olympiad. The registration fee for each participant is 50$ (transfer services, cultural program, organization costs are included).

This round will be held in two stages:

1. Individual

2. Group

In the individual classification, participants will be offered 15 tasks of different difficulty levels. The duration of the Olympiad is 1.5 hours. The language of the Olympiad is English, Russian, Kazakh and the languages of the participating countries (upon request).

The second day of the Olympiad will be held in a group classification, the participants will be divided into groups of 4-5 people. Each team will be given 10 tasks, 1 hour will be given to complete all the tasks. Each team chooses a captain and he distributes tasks among the team members. Each participant must solve no more than 3 problems.

The results of the Olympiad are summed up during the day after the writing of the Olympiad. The awards ceremony for the winners of the Olympiad is held on the last day. Individual and group tests are assessed separately. The results are published after the award ceremony on the website www.femo.kz. 

All participants have certificates of participation, as well as a 10% discount for studying at the IFSS Junior International Summer Camp. No more than 60% of the participants are awarded medals and diplomas of 1,2 and 3 degrees, as well as certificates of honorable mention.

Participants who took 1,2 and 3 places receive discounts for studying at the International Summer Camp IFSS Junior in the amount of 100%, 50% and 30%, respectively, as well as valuable prizes.

In the case of an online round

In case of force majeure circumstances (war, uprising, strike, pandemic, earthquake, flood, fire, severe weather conditions or other natural disasters, government regulations, orders (decrees) of state bodies and officials, laws and other regulations of the competent authorities) the Olympiad will be held online.

The date and time of the Olympiad will also be announced before the start of the Olympiad.

For the Olympiad, platforms can be used: Google Forms, exam.net and others. Platform instructions will be sent to the participants' email addresses filled in at registration.

In the case of the International Round in the online format, only the individual stage will be offered to the participants.

Как проходит олимпиада

Олимпиада по математике FEMO International (далее – Олимпиада) проводится для учащихся 1-5 классов. Олимпиада состоит из трех туров – зимний, весенний и международный. В зимнем и весеннем турах могут принять участие все желающие. Победители одного из туров будут допущены на Международный тур олимпиады. Всем участникам каждого из туров вручаются сертификаты об участии. Не более 60% участников награждаются медалями и дипломами 1,2 и 3 степени, а также похвальными грамотами.

Зимний и весенний тур

Данный тур проводится одновременно для всех стран участников в один из выходных дней. Сроки проведения тура: декабрь–январь (зимний), март–апрель (весенний). Даты олимпиады объявляются за 20 дней до начала олимпиады. Задания составляются международной методической комиссией.

В каждом регионе для проведения олимпиады выделяется одна или два точки проведения, куда приходят в назначенное время все желающие участвовать согласно спискам. Список точек проведения определяется за несколько недель до олимпиады и будет опубликован на официальном сайте Олимпиады www.femo.kz.

Участникам будут предложены от 10 до 15 задач разного уровня сложности. Продолжительность олимпиады составляет — от 1 до 1,5 часа. В Олимпиаде не требуется решения к задаче, а только её ответ. Язык олимпиады — английский, русский, казахский и языки стран участников (по запросу).

Итоги олимпиады подводятся в течении 10 рабочих дней. Награждение победителей олимпиады проводится в точках проведения организаторами олимпиады независимо от того, прошли ли они на следующий тур. Публикация результатов проводится после церемонии награждения на сайте www.femo.kz.

Оргвзнос за каждого участника составляет — 10 $.

В случае возникновения обстоятельств непреодолимой силы (война, восстание, забастовка, пандемия, землетрясение, наводнение, пожар, суровые погодные условия или другие стихийные бедствия, правительственные постановления, распоряжения (указы) государственных органов и должностных лиц, законы и иные нормативные акты компетентных органов) олимпиада может пройти в онлайн формате или перенесена на другую дату.

Международный тур

Участие в данном туре принимают только победители (Гран-при и 1 место) зимнего или весеннего туров. Сроки проведения тура: 1–5 июня. Точные даты олимпиады объявляются за 20 дней до её начала. Задания составляются международной методической комиссией.

Для проведения Международного тура оргкомитетом выбирает регион/страну проведения из числа стран участников/партнёров. Точка проведения объявляется до 1 мая текущего года на сайте www.femo.kz.

Победителям необходимо будет приехать в точку проведения. Расходы по питанию, проживанию и перелёту оплачиваются участниками олимпиады. Оргвзнос за каждого участника составляет — 50 $ (включены услуги трансфера, культурная программа, расходы поорганизации).

Данный тур пройдёт в два этапа:

1. Индивидуальный зачёт

2. Групповой зачёт

В индивидуальном зачёте участникам будут предложены 15 задач разного уровня сложности. Продолжительность олимпиады составляет — 1,5 часа. Язык олимпиады — английский, русский, казахский и языки стран участников (по запросу).

Второй день олимпиады пройдёт в групповом зачёте, участники будут разделены на команды по 4–5 человек. Для каждой команды будут даны по 10 задач, на решение которых будет отведено 1 час. Каждая команда выбирает капитана и он распределяет задачи среди членов команды. Каждый участник должен решать не более 3 задач.

Итоги олимпиады подводятся в течении дня после написания олимпиады. Награждение победителей олимпиады проводится в последний день. Индивидуальный и групповой зачёт оцениваются отдельно. Публикация результатов проводится после церемонии награждения на сайте www.femo.kz.

Всем участникам сертификаты об участии, а также 10% скидки на обучение в Международном Летнем Лагере IFSS Junior. Не более 60% участников награждаются медалями и дипломами 1,2 и 3 степени, а также похвальными грамотами.

Участники занявшие 1,2 и 3 место, получают скидки на обучение в Международном Летнем Лагере IFSS Junior в размере 100%, 50% и 30% соответственно, а также ценные призы.

В случае проведения тура — онлайн

В случае возникновения обстоятельств непреодолимой силы (война, восстание, забастовка, пандемия, землетрясение, наводнение, пожар, суровые погодные условия или другие стихийные бедствия, правительственные постановления, распоряжения (указы) государственных органов и должностных лиц, законы и иные нормативные акты компетентных органов) олимпиада будет проводиться в онлайн формате.

Дата и время олимпиады также будут объявлены до начала олимпиады.

Для проведения олимпиады могут использоваться платформы: Google Forms, exam.net и другие. Инструкции по платформам будут рассылаться на электронные адреса участников заполненные при регистрации.

В случае проведения Международного тура в онлайн формате, участникам будет предложен только этап индивидуального зачёта.